The reality of Feminism in the workplace.

Never ever be afraid to stand up for yourself and what you believe in. 
Recently I was ridiculed in an interview from start to finish by a grown woman, a partner of a law firm who slated me for my blog and for being so open and honest with my readers. 

She asked why was I so open;did I not care about discretion? She patronised me and told me I was ‘brave’, she further questioned my mental wellbeing and whether I was fit for the role in question. 

At first I wanted to cry, because she had upset me so much. But then I thought, why should anyone make me feel like this!? 
Since job seeking that was the second woman who had interviewed me and aggressively focused on my, looks, my personality rather than my work ethic. 

That’s why law firms are an absolute joke, I love law, it’s something i’m passionate about and something I’m damn good at! But these firms want a ‘legal robot’ some person who has no personality, no social skills and no back bone. 

The lady who interviewed didn’t like that I had hobbies outside of my law degree. As I explained to her, I share my experiences with my readers because it’s important that people know they aren’t alone, I get emails daily from my readers thanking me for being so open and honest. 

This blog isn’t about me, it’s about helping others, I don’t care how it portrays me. All I want is for one person to read it and think, that’s exactly how I feel. 

I wasn’t afraid to let the firm know I did not want the position and If I had been successful I would not have taken it regardless. I told the head of HR of my experience, to which they were concerned but I doubt the matter will go further. 

We all promote ‘women standing together’, ‘women looking out for eachother’ but in reality i’ve only ever been picked on by women! No man has treated me the way some women do, especially older women. 

Thank you for reading, I love blogging as a creative outlet and it’s a great way for me to get things off my chest! 

2 thoughts on “The reality of Feminism in the workplace.

  1. herstorycontinued says:

    Good on you for standing up for yourself. It honestly sounds like a horrible experience and it’s so great that you put your foot down. Interviews are stressful enough without the interviewer tearing you apart. Your blog is a great read and I think it’s great you put yourself out there. Keep it up. x

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

