Screw the scales.

If you follow me on social media you’ll see that I posted this picture yesterday. I wanted to expand on it in more detail though and thought my blog was the best place to do it!

The reason for this post was influenced by Facebook. I have so many friends who panic about putting on weight over Christmas, or struggling with diets consistently and all I see is them pulling themselves down over a few pounds, or how heavy they are etc. My Facebook friends know I train a lot, but I don’t share the same things I share on my Instagram or blog, so to them it must have come as a surprise to see how heavy I ACTUALLY am, and that’s why I wanted to do it, because I wanted them to feel better about their weight, or their journey.

15826061_10210786052144593_6690227028522502403_n.jpg

 

 

There’s a stone difference between these pictures…I know a STONE!

 

On the left I was 57kg, this wasn’t the beginning of my training, at this point I’d already put on half a stone. Most of that weight was just from eating properly again, if you’ve seen my other transformations you’ll know how skinny I was before this. At 57kg this was the point where I was eating still under <1000 calories a day, overtraining and exhausting myself for results. You see I wanted to have muscle, put not put on weight. It doesn’t matter how many people tell you “you need to eat to grow” I can tell you, you won’t listen until you decide to do it for yourself!

Why did I decide to change?

I was fed up of being exhausted, plus studying as part of my PT course and completing my nutrition course really benefited the way I looked at my training and what I was putting into my body. Because it’s simple really, to burn fat you need to burn off more than you consume and to gain muscle you need to be in a surplus.

Now I never weight myself because it’s toxic and can be obsessive, I just did this to prove a point…being heavier means nothing. I used to think it did, I used to think being a 1lb heavier was the end of the world, it would actually ruin my day. Ridiculous right? I threw my scales out and started taking progress pictures and writing down my personal bests.

Best thing I ever started doing!

So now at 63kg, I’m currently lean bulking, eating around 2300 – 2500 calories a day. Weight training 6 times a week and cardio session 3 times a week.

Each of my meals consist of healthy fats, carbs and protein. Even by doing this for a few weeks, I’ve noticed a huge difference in my appearance and training.

Guess what I’m still a dress size UK 6 – 8, everything fits me better, I have more confidence and feel more feminine than I did when I was skinnier.

I’ve toyed with the idea of competing for a few months now and I’ve decided not to do it. I think the women look amazing who compete and I really respect them for their dedication and training…that’s not easy. It’s not for me though, I’ve fallen in love with looking stronger, fuller and lifting heavier which is why I look up to women like Dana Linn bailey as motivation.

Basically, a number on the scale does not define you. It does not show your struggles, your progress, your personality or your beauty. Screw the scales ditch them and be proud of every little improvement you make! Remember it doesn’t have to be physical changing your mind-set is just as important if not more important!

 

4 thoughts on “Screw the scales.

  1. Mackenzie says:

    This is so inspirational! It is also the ultimate of healthy mindsets! While most women desire to have the “ideal” body, I bet even more women would kill to have your mindset in achieving the healthiest YOU! Seriously love this so much, your confidence shines through and makes you even more beautiful and radiant!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

