Macro Friendly Jaffa Cakes

img_4855-1

I’ve been baking ALOT the past few days, probably because I have more time on my hands now. Due to my anxiety I’ve had to take a few steps back from work, training, bitchiness, boys….basically any negative situation and focus on myself for once.

Anyway, I’ve been throwing myself into the gym, music,baking and writing…things I know make me truly happy because thats what its about right? doing what makes you happy. Sure it doesn’t pay the bills, but I’ve come to the conclusion that life’s too short and I’m too young to continue down the hectic path I was going.

It doesn’t matter if you don’t have it all figured out, what is with this constant pressure that we should know exactly what we are doing with our lives? Do what makes you happy, make time for those things that make you happy.

Back to baking…I saw the Great British Bake off a few weeks ago and whilst watching the week where they made Jaffa Cakes, I couldn’t think how easy that would be to make ‘macro friendly’ Im so happy with how they have turned out!

img_4870-1img_4876

Ingredients

150g self raising flour (I used Gluten free)
1 tbsp orange flavouring
1 tsp baking powder
1 large egg
4 tbsp coconut oil – melted
2 tbsp maple syrup/agave
4tbsp of almond milk
Sugar free orange jelly
3 small bars of dairy free chocolate/dark chocolate

Method

  1. Mix the jelly according to the instructions on the packet and leave to set in a shallow container.
  2. Pre heat the oven to 180 degrees celcius
  3. Lightly grease two muffin trays
  4. In a mixing bowl, mix together self raising flour, orange flavouring and baking powder.
  5. Add the eggs, coconut oil, agave, almond milk and mix until a thick batter is formed. If the mixture is still too thick continue to add more almond milk.
  6. Scoop a tsp of the mixture into one of the muffin tins, flatten the top with a spoon, it should fill about half of the tin. Repeat with the rest of the batter then bake in the oven for 15 minutes or until golden brown.
  7. Leave the cakes to cool on a rack.
  8. Remove the jelly from the fridge and cut small circles out of the jelly and assemble on top of the cake.
  9. Place a pan of water on top of the stove and a heat proof bowl over the top of the pan. Allow the water to simmer and then melt both bars of chocolate.
  10. Once melted, pour the chocolate over the individual cakes
  11. Leave to set in the fridge
  12. Enjoy!

IMG_4848 (1).jpg

Leave a Reply

