Balancing a busy schedule & your healthy lifestyle

  
It’s so easy for people to say an hour workout is only 4% of your day, but realistically for many who work 9-5, getting yourself to the gym for that hour can be pretty tough to commit to. It’s not only the gym which can be difficult for those with busy schedules, it’s the healthy eating that goes along with it. We all have days where preparing a healthy meal from scratch is the last thing we want to be doing. 

I work 9-5, travel to and from work, blog, cook from scratch every night and manage to go to the gym 6 days a week. So how do I do it? Below is a few tips I’ve picked up along the way that have really helped me stay on track! I hope they help you too.
 
Routine. Routine. Routine. 

I can’t stress how important it is to create a routine for yourself. It’s the one thing that will really help you stay on track with your healthy journey. Lucky for me I’ve found a gym opposite the law firm where I work, so every lunch time I go to the gym, shower and go back to work. It’s so easy for me to fit this into my work schedule & I really recommend it to anyone who has a gym close enough! Its even had a positive impact on my work and my stress levels are considerably lower. Bonus! 

If you can’t do this, take your gym clothes to work or university, that way you don’t have to think about going home then going to the gym, you can just go straight to the gym. If you do this a few times a week you start to fit it in your routine and your body becomes accustomed to the later time that your home. If you finish too late, think about getting up an hour earlier and go the the gym beforehand, it really is whatever works for your schedule but the more you do it a week the more you’ll build a routine that you won’t want to break in the long run. 

Buddy up!

Find someone who you work with/friend/relative who wants to get in shape but find it difficult to find time, just like you. That way you can both encourage each other to go to the gym because let’s be honest, if one person wants to go, the other person won’t want to let them down plus it’s always nice to have someone to train with and it will push you harder. 

Meal Prep

This is the one of most important things you can do to keep yourself on track. Designate yourself one afternoon a week to prep all your meals for the following week. It helps so much and prevents you reaching for that takeaway menu after a stressful day! I spend every Sunday afternoon prepping for the week ahead, this means; I’ll cook all my lunches for the week, store them in Tupperware and prepare my breakfast for every morning. I’ve also recently started creating a meal plan so I know exactly what I’m eating each night when I come home. It really does help and like anything once you get into a routine it will just come natural to you. 

Find inspiration 

I love social media, guilty! whenever I’m on it I get inspired because I follow a great range of fitness enthusiasts, chefs and people living healthy lifestyles. By surrounding myself with this positivity and different ideas it motivates me to get up and work hard! So get following!

Leave a Reply

