Raw lemon & poppy seed slice

IMG_3164This week has been a bit up and down in my journey but I suppose we all have these moments! I went shopping for the first time in a while and noticed how difficult it is to get clothes that fit in the right places now I have muscles. I have a small waist, muscly legs and arms so depending on the item of clothing, now depends on the size I need!

This was admittedly a bit difficult to take in & felt so deflated but I had to change my mind set and tell myself how much healthier I am now and it’s how you feel that counts! If only I could wear gym clothes everyday!

Naturally I cheered myself up with baking some delicious raw lemon slices. These are easily the most delicious thing I have made – I absolutely love lemons and this was my idea of heaven. IMG_3219
Ingredients

For the base 

  • 1/2 cup of almonds
  • 1 cup of pitted dates that have been soaked in warm water for 5 minutes to soften
  • 1 tbsp of coconut oil

For the filling

  • 1 cup of cashews that have been soaking in water overnight
  • juice and zest of 1 1/2 lemons
  • 1/4 cup of agave
  • 2 tbsp coconut oil
  • 2 tbsp water
  • 2 tbsp of poppy seeds

Method

For the base

  1.  Line a baking tin with parchment paper
  2. Place the almonds into a food processor  and mix until they are smaller chunks
  3. Add the dates and coconut oil and continue to mix for a further 2 minutes until the mix has combined. It should still be sticky.
  4. Spoon the mixture into your baking tin and cover the bottom layer. Make sure you flatten this with a spoon to create a good base.
  5. Place the baking tin in the freezer to set.

For the filling

  1. To the food processor add the cashew nuts, zest of the one lemon (keep some zest left over), lemon juice, agave and coconut oil and mix.
  2. Let this mix for five minutes until thick and creamy. Make sure you push down any mixture that is sticking to the sides. If too thick, add the water and continue to mix.
  3. Add the poppy seeds to the mixture last and mix until thick
  4. Remove your tray from the freezer and spoon the mixture onto the base.
  5. Take your left over zest and sprinkle over the top for decoration
  6. Place the baking tray into the freezer and freeze for several hours
  7. Once set, remove from the baking tray and slice into squares.
  8. Serve immediately or place them back into the freezer until you want them IMG_3252IMG_3194
3 thoughts on “Raw lemon & poppy seed slice

Leave a Reply

