Blackberry Chia seed Jam

IMG_1807
It’s blackberry season and my blackberries have FINALLY made an appearance, after watching them for weeks.

I’ve wanted to make blackberry jam all summer! I’m not the biggest fan of overly sweet jams and as I have excluded refined sugars from my diet I needed another way to create the jam. Which is when I came across using seeds as a replacement; chia seeds and basil seeds expand within the jam to create the same texture as a typical jam, but without the sugar.

I decided to use chia seeds purely because of it’s health benefits. Full of omega 3 and rich in antioxidants chia seeds are so diverse and can be added to all types of recipes. 

It is so quick and easy to make, you’ll be wondering why you haven’t made it before! I’ve combined my chia seed jam with my gluten free, dairy free banana bread for the perfect snack or breakfast. IMG_1811

Ingredients

  • 1-2tbsp of Agave honey depending on your desired sweetness
  • 350g of blackberries
  • 2tbp of chia seeds

Method

  1. In a medium saucepan bring the blackberries to a low boil. Make sure you keep stirring.
  2. Once the blackberries start to boil, reduce the heat and simmer until the berries are slightly soft.
  3. Mash the berries lightly, but leave some chunks for the jam texture
  4. stir in the agave, chia seeds and continue to cook on a low heat for 5 minutes. Keep stirring so the mixture doesn’t stick to the bottom
  5. Remove from the heat, stir and let the jam cool at room temperature.
  6. Place the jam in an air tight container and store in the fridge. The jam will keep for up to two weeks. IMG_1814
2 thoughts on “Blackberry Chia seed Jam

Leave a Reply

