Superfood Pesto 

IMG_0050
The past two weeks I have been adventuring around the amazing country of Sri Lanka. What a once in a lifetime experience this was! I loved immersing myself in their culture and trying their flavoursome foods. I will be blogging about this soon, once I sort all of the pictures out; there’s thousands of them!

Now that I’m back, I have so many recipes that I want to share with you all. I really enjoy spending time in my kitchen and getting creative with food.

I love good strong flavours and this pesto has all of that, along with a creamy consistency it is a great addition to any dish. Simple and quick to make, I have combined mine with courgetti and roasted cherry tomatoes for a Mediterranean vibe.

Ingredients

  • A large handful of fresh basil
  • 2 garlic cloves
  • 1/2 tsp of spirulina
  • 3 tbsp of olive oil
  • sea salt
  • black pepper
  • a handful of walnuts
  • dash of lemon juice

IMG_0044
Method

1.  In a pestle and mortar or a food processor add the garlic, pinch of sea salt and pound together.

2. Add the walnuts, basil leaves and spirulina to the mixture and pound again until a rough paste is formed.

3. Stir in the olive oil to desired consistency, then add the lemon juice and pepper to taste. Continue to pound the mixture until smooth.

4. Serve and enjoy.
IMG_0059

2 thoughts on “Superfood Pesto 

Leave a Reply

