Hydrate. Hydrate. Hydrate

IMG_7033 copyOur bodies are predominately made up of water and many people, including professional athletes, underestimate the importance of keeping hydrated, especially during exercise.

I try to exercise six times a week, which is a lot of sweating, therefore I try to make sure I am drinking enough water to keep hydrated. However sometimes drinking plain water can be pretty boring and more of a challenge, than a necessity. Which is why I’ve started to drink more Detox Water. Detox water is a great way to increase your water intake, detox your body and naturally boost your metabolism, it also tastes pretty great too!

Below, I have provided a few of my favourite combinations.

Lemon & Lime Juice Detox Water:

  • 1 lemon sliced thinIMG_6899ly
  • A handful of crushed ice
  • Juice half of lime

Lemons are great source of vitamin C and its main benefit is to flush out toxins from your digestive tract.

Spirulina Detox Water:

  • 1 tsp of Spirulina (I use Organic Burst Spirulina Powder)
  • A handful of crushed ice
  • Juice  a wedge of lemon   IMG_6928

Spirulina is a superfood and it is packed with Iron, Vitamin B6 and rich in protein which helps supports your immune system.

Strawberry and Basil Detox Water:

  • A few freshly picked basil leaves, whole.
  • A handful of crushed ice
  • Small number of  strawberries chopped in half

Strawberries are full of antioxidants and a great source of Vitamin C; which helps your immune system. Whilst, basil leaves add a freshness to the water.

Cucumber and Rosemary Detox Water:

  • A few sprigs of rosemary.
  • A handful of crushed ice
  • Quarter cucumber sliced thinly

Cucumbers are a great addition to water as they provide additional hydration and great benefits for your skin!

Add each ingredient to your water, refrigerate for a few hours and serve.

IMG_6920 copy

As an alternative, add berries to ice trays and freeze. These can be added to your water, juices and smoothies to provide additional antioxidant benefits. IMG_7089

4 thoughts on “Hydrate. Hydrate. Hydrate

  1. Sandra McCall says:

    I’ve been interested in trying spirulina, but wondered if (before I buy) it breaks down so that you drink no grit. Part of my problem with a lot of the “health” drinks is the grittiness so, I’ve wasted a lot of money on stuff that I just end up throwing away. Spirulina? Gritty?

    Like

      • Sandra McCall says:

        Thanks so much for your quick reply. So very sorry for my embarrassingly long response time.
        I am new to WordPress and just now found this spot that lets me know about replies.

        Disappointing about the spirulina in plain water, but thanks so much for your info. I will probably buy some since I keep hearing about it’s benefits. But, so far, there is an awful lot that I can only stomach in smoothies or little bars made with dates. LOL, I think that the dates are making me gain weight again.

        Like

Leave a Reply

